You’re Only As Old As You Feel – Unknown

Stages

An old saying came to mind the other day: You’re only as old as you feel.  I was picking up a few items at the grocery store when I noticed the man gathering the carts in the parking lot.  He was elderly, slightly bent, slowly shuffling, pushing a row of carts toward the entrance of the store.  My first thought was, “Poor old man having to work like this at his age.”  Then I thought, “Maybe he wants to do this?  Maybe he has chosen this work and enjoys it?”  Sure, from my perspective he looks like he should be enjoying his final years playing checkers and eating pudding with his retirement home buddies.  That might not be how he sees himself.  You’re only as old as you feel.

I have heard this saying hundreds of times growing up.  I wondered where it originated.  Doing some research, I found many variations of this saying throughout the decades (“You’re only as young as the woman you feel.” –Groucho Marx and “Age isn’t how old you are, but how old you feel.” –Gabriel Garcia Marquez); but I could not pinpoint an origination.  What I did find is that people are OBSESSED with aging!  There are so many quotes, conversations, books, and poems about growing old.  Not surprising really.  Everybody ages. However, as one man put it, “Old age isn’t so bad, when you consider the alternative.”

growing old

Some of my favorite quotes about aging include:

“Age is an issue of mind over matter; If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.” – Mark Twain

“Aging is not lost youth but a new stage of opportunity and strength.” – Betty Friedan

“You can’t help getting older, but you don’t have to get old.” – George Burns

“I have reached an age when, if someone tells me to wear socks, I don’t have to.” – Albert Einstein

For more great quotes on aging, click here!

.

2 thoughts on “You’re Only As Old As You Feel – Unknown”

  1. I agree with this Traci. Love the quotes. Would enjoy seeing more quotes about the attitudes of aging. I, myself don’t I tend ever get old. My Dad never got old. He maintained that unique sense of humor until his final day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

