An Ounce of Prevention is Worth a Pound of Cure – Benjamin Franklin

benjamin franklin

Sometimes my mouth works faster than my brain.  Ever have that problem?  I’m sure I am not the only one.

This is my third week at Ateb, Inc.  New job, new people.  I’m a fairly outgoing person and enjoy meeting my co-workers.  We are an eclectic bunch. You have sales professionals on one side, IT folks down the center, accounting professionals on another side, engineers and support toward the back.  Drastically different types of people in different roles all working together under one roof.  I am the administrative support for all departments.  It’s quite an undertaking.

Today I met a guy from the back of the office.  He must have checked out my Linkedin profile or something and introduced himself as someone who also worked for Alltel Communications long ago.  As we were talking, I noticed his shirt.  “United Federation of Planets”, I suddenly read out loud.  “Are you a member, because I’d like to join?”  He gave a nervous laugh and headed on back to his department.  Eh.  Maybe it was too soon to throw out a Star Trek joke.  I mean….you should really know someone better before you talk Trekkie.

StarTrek_UnitedFederationofPlanets_freedesktopwallpaper_1024

Benjamin Franklin, way back in the 1700’s  once wrote, “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.”  This could have many applications, but in my case, I take it to mean “think before you speak”.  Benjamin Franklin was a pretty smart ol’ chap.  Boy was that an understatement.  Benjamin Franklin was a writer, a scientist, an inventor, a diplomat, and a statesman just to name a few.  Imagine what his Linkedin profile would look like?  Probably something like THIS.

Charles Dickens includes a similar quote in his 1850 novel “David Copperfield”.  Dickens wrote, “Least said, sooner mended.”  Wise men….words to live by.

For more words of wisdom by the wonderful Benjamin Franklin, I recommend reading “Poor Richard’s Almanac” and you can browse more quotes HERE.

3 thoughts on “An Ounce of Prevention is Worth a Pound of Cure – Benjamin Franklin”

Leave a Reply

